Boats At Portree Harbour

The Isle of Skye and its surrounding environment are from my point of view, the best scenery in Scotland. If you have only the opportunity to be a few days here, you should go to the Eilean Donan Castle and to cross the channel until this isle. I know that I didn’t see the overall isle, just a few sites but it is amazing to visit the Kilt Rock Fall, the Storr, the Dunvegan Castle, … and other ones that I didn’t see like Elgol, Cullin Hills …

The main town in the island is Portree. The current name comes from the Scottish Gaelic ‘Port Rìgh’, that can be translated as ‘king’s harbour’, possibly from a visit by King James V of Scotland in 1540. The older name appears to have been Port Ruighe(adh), ‘slope harbour’.

In the picture, a tipical panorama from the harbour, with the green mountains on the background in contrast with a silver gray sky and the usual transient light.

Boats At Portree Harbour

Portree Harbour, Isle of Skye, Scotland (UK)

Panasonic DMC-FX9 | f5.6, 1/500s, ISO 80.

6 thoughts on “Boats At Portree Harbour

    • I love Scotland. Unfortunately, I only have a point-and-shot camera when I was. I am re-editing again the pics and doing my best. Thank you very much for your comments, guys !

Leave a Reply

